Manage Project Versions

When you’re mapping a process any changes you make to a diagram are saved automatically so there’s no need to save it. However, when you’re collaborating with others, it’s best practice to save project versions so that there’s a history of the changes you and others make to the project over time.

With version history, you can explore different project versions, restore versions of the project, create a project based on a specific project version and delete versions.

You manage versions in the History panel. Here you can also see the list of the existing versions of the project.

  • In the Panel menu, click History.

Save a Version

You can save a specific version of a project so that it’s preserved in the project history.

  1. In History, click Save version to save the current version of the project.

  2. In the dialog box that opens, give the version a name and a description — both optional — then click Save.

    If you don’t give the project a name, a default name is given using the date and time the version was created — for example, “January 10 - 12PM”.

Edit a Version

You can edit the name and description of a version.

  1. In History, click next to the version you want to edit.

  2. Edit the name and/or the description, then click Save.

Restore a Version

This enables you to restore an earlier version of the project.

  1. In History, click , then select Restore.

  2. In the dialog box that opens, click Restore.

Create a Project Based on a Version

Create a new project based on a specific project version.

  1. In History, click , then select Create project.

  2. In the dialog box that opens, give the project a name, then click Create.

Explore a Project Version

This option enables you to view and explore a version and all its diagrams in a new tab of your browser.

  • In History, click next to the project version you want to explore, then select Explore version.

You can explore all the diagrams in the project using and at the bottom of the screen.

From here, you can perform these actions:

  • Edit the project version name — click inside the name field and type the new name.

  • Restore the version.

  • Delete the version.

  • Create a project based on the version.

  • Switch view and explore another version of the project.

    In the panel on the right, click the version you want to explore.

Delete a Version

Permanently delete a project version. Once you delete it, it can’t be restored.

  • In History, click , then select Delete.